Quirks & Rituals

Andrea Cannon
2 min readSep 4, 2020
Photo by Dimitry Anikin on Unsplash

I have to clean the dust off my desk before I can write. And there is so much dust. Not from lack of use; it’s like this every day when I sit down to write. It’s just dusty here at the farm, with all the sand and the dogs running in and out and… well, you know if you’ve spent any time in the country.

Back to cleaning my desk. I can’t think in a messy environment. Clutter grates on my mind like fingernails on a chalkboard. It’s not very helpful for the new book I am working on.

If you know many writers then you probably realize we’re all a bit neurotic. At least I think we are. Maybe I’m the only one. Maybe I’m just looking for an excuse to rationalize my quirks. Who knows? But my desk is tidy now and dust-free for the moment. Hopefully, my imagination will kick in.

I don’t know if cleaning my desk is a ritual to get my brain in writing mode, or a procrastination technique. Either way, it happens every day. I just published my second book, and I’m trying to change gears from MG fiction to inspirational non-fiction for my next project. The cleaning ritual helps. I am curious to hear about some of your creativity rituals.
If you’d like to know more about my books, click
here to subscribe to my newsletter.

--

--